Skip to content

Humming bird butterfly again

August 18, 2008

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Scottie permalink
    August 18, 2008 5:11 pm

    I can honestly say that I have never seen one of those critters before in my life. My daughter wanted to know if it was real….

  2. August 18, 2008 6:07 pm

    Oh yes it is very real. It’s about as big as a bumble bee. And it’s wings go so fast you can’t even see them. It zipped around me a few times and I thought it was a bee till it stopped to drink from the flowers. You should have seen me trying to keep up with it. LOL.

  3. Terry permalink
    March 13, 2009 6:48 am

    Yes these are very real. I have seen three of them here in West Virginia. I had never seen them before and wondered what they were too. I took pictures of them and all they are very graceful and beautiful. The one I saw was green/red/black it was beautiful.

  4. Jeff permalink
    August 18, 2010 7:47 am

    Saw 2 of them yesterday at Old Man’s Cave in Logan Ohio. They have a butterfly area for viewing, and we thougth it was a hummingbird, but had never seen a humming bird with antennae. Then it got closer and we say the multiple legs, so knew it had to be some sort of insect. Then another showed up a couple of minutes later. Both my wife and I remarked that it looked like a cross between a hummingbird and a crawdad. From the back the body is crawdad shaped,

  5. Tom permalink
    August 21, 2010 1:29 pm

    I live in Delaware and we have them

  6. Bryce permalink
    August 23, 2010 6:01 pm

    Saw one yesterday on are butterfly bush for first time, even got video of it in my phone, very cool. Central Michigan

  7. julie permalink
    September 16, 2010 9:42 pm

    I seen one of them on my butterfly bush this august. didnt no what it was until a lady at work told me about them. i live in flint mi

Leave a Reply

